The Skin You’re In

Charlie, Roger, Steffie, daddy
Me with my dad and brothers at an Anasazi ruin in southwestern USA.

Growing up in the ’50’s and early ’60’s, the only line of defense against the sun’s rays was a hat and clothing, unless you lived in an area that had “winter”. At least that way you were inside or fully clothed for most of the year. As for me, living in Houston Texas, I spent most of my day outside year-round. When we went to Galveston or to the deserts of the southwest on vacation, my mom had us wear hats and clothing that covered us, most of the time.

I don’t remember getting sunburned until I was in high school in NJ and it was my own fault. I went to the shore for the Memorial Day weekend and fell asleep on the beach face down for maybe an hour. It was too cool to swim, so I had on shorts and a sleeveless top. A good part of my back half was exposed to the pre-summer sun and I ended up with the worst sunburn ever.

Back track a bit…my mother told me before I left for the shore that weekend, “Do not come home with a sunburn!”. So when I walked in the door barely able to walk with blistering on the back of my legs…plus arms, shoulders, upper back and neck…my mother said, “I told you so! You’re on your own”. She was so angry with me like I had never seen before. Luckily my older brother was home from college for a few days and felt sorry for me. He rubbed Noxzema on my legs and all the spots that were badly burned. I couldn’t even turn over in bed. I missed a couple of days of school because of not being able to move. My sunburned body blistered painfully and completely.


After the peeling stopped and I had a new layer of skin, I wasn’t able to go in the sun for the rest of the summer without my skin bubbling up. It was so weird. At the end of the summer while at the family lake cottage in Ontario, I was finally able to be in the sun without blistering. Round Lake in mid-August is already into fall, so the sun was not intense.

By the time I was 30, the signs of the sun began to show. The years I was in college at Arizona State didn’t help either. Although, I was better about protecting my skin by then. But even so, sunscreens just weren’t what they are now. The only choice was the white stuff. Yuck!

I had my first basal cell in my 30’s and then a squamous cell carcinoma removed when I was in my 40’s. By the time I was in my 50’s the numbers improved greatly mainly due to the essential oils I started using daily about 15 years ago. This is when I was introduced to essential oils and became a distributor with Young Living. My teacher/mentor advised me to add sandalwood along with the lavender, geranium, frankincense, and rosewood to my moisturizer. Sandalwood guards against skin cancer and adding that one EO has made a huge difference. They have also helped to keep my skin from being severly wrinkled.

Some of the lines on our faces are good and best to be honored. For example, the joy lines on the outer corners of the eyes and the all important purpose lines coming down from the nose to the outer edges of the mouth. As you can see, I’ve got those and glad I do. photo-on-2010-01-30-at-14-48

Now, I not only continue to add my essential oils to my skin products, I make my own lotions and creams as well. Thanks to my daughter Melody, who owns and operates just the store I need. I get some of the supplies needed to make those totally natural skin products. But, since there’s more involved to make a good soap, I leave the soap making to her and buy as needed.

Here’s the link to the moisturizer recipe I use. I’ve used several different wonderful oils, but I like the added benefits of coconut oil. If you email or call Melody, she will send you the ingredients (emulsifying wax & shea butter) that are harder to find. She is planning on offering a lotions & creams kit sometime in the near future to make it even easier. The rest can be found in your local drug and/or grocery store. You will need a kitchen scale that measures grams. These are easy to find in the big box stores or on Amazon for under $20. I also recommend using Young Living essential oils, which you can purchase through me. If not, be sure to only use therapeutic grade EO’s!!!

Oh!! Be sure to moisture your neck and chest with what you use on your face. Those areas age 7x’s faster than your face. It’s that thin skin in those areas…eyes lids too.

I also recommend Boom products. I use the Boomsticks color, glow and glimmer. You’ll also find video’s with great advice on using makeup for those over 50.

Our skin is our largest organ and a complete replacement of the epidermis layer only takes 47-48 days, wow! All the more reason to nourish it with love and respect through healthy eating, keeping yourself well hydrated and being careful of your sun exposure. See your dermatologist once a year, or twice if you’ve got sun damage issues like me. Prevention and catching the little things early before they become big things is the only way to go

Be smart about your skin!

Namaste’
Stephanie

Posted by

Welcome to my Body, Mind & Home Wellness Blog! It is my goal to support my clients through inspiration, education and guidance to create wellness in their body, mind, & home through the practices of feng shui, elemental space clearing, yoga, and more.

One thought on “The Skin You’re In

Leave a Reply

