Happiness Is…letting go?

………The path to freedom is happiness………

Growing up I was a happy kid. As an adult, I’m still a happy kid. There have been occasions both as a child and an adult when I was asked “Are you alright?”. I think my quietness was mistaken for depression, a disconnect with spirit. Funny, because depression is something I’ve never experienced. I have of course been sad at times because of the loss of someone I loved. For the loss of anything material, only briefly. I get angry if it was because of my own carelessness, but then I move on. After all, most stuff can be replaced even if it’s a pain in the neck to do so. Then there are the feelings of disappointment and struggle, which for some people brings on depression or unhappiness. For me, I know that whenever I’m disappointed about something I work hard for or at and it didn’t work out, it just wasn’t meant to be.  Also, if I’m working at something I thought I wanted to do but I start feeling burdened with it, time to let it go. It’s your heart telling you to move on to a new goal or dream, and that’s OK.

Musical Interlude: I’m reminded of a favorite Donovan song, Happiness Runs
Little pebble upon the sand
Now you’re lying here in my hand,                              donovan
How many years have you been here?
Little human upon the sand
From where I’m lying here in your hand,
You to me are but a passing breeze.
The sun will always shine where you stand
Depending in which land
You may find yourself.
Now you have my blessing, go your way.
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
Happiness runs, happiness runs. repeats….
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself see.
Happiness runs, happiness runs…repeats
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself see.
Happiness runs, happiness runs…repeats
Why? Because…repeats
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself see.
You can have everything if you let yourself be…repeats

Happiness is a choice. Have you asked yourself what it is you really want in your life? Are they dreams of addiction or happiness? Maybe you started out happy, but are you still excited and happy about it?

Our place of inner power is not in the head, but the heart…the solar plexus (the gut) too. I’ve known people to be so focused on a goal or a dream they become addicted to it. Then they end up burdening themselves to reach it. It becomes a burden for the mind and body. It’s OK to let it go, to let go of the addiction of reaching that goal/dream and move on to something else. If it isn’t working, you gotta move on. It is then that something better shows up.

Another musical interlude“Don’t Worry, (holding on) Be Happy” (letting go)

If you or you know someone who struggles with being stuck in a goal or dream, check out “The Next Happy” by Tracey Cleantis. It’s a great little book.

 

“When we are no longer able to change a situation,
we are challenged to change ourselves.”
― Viktor E. Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning

 

unnamed

….for reading my blog!  Let Go…Be Happy!

 

Namaste’

Stephanie

Posted by

Welcome to my Body, Mind & Home Wellness Blog! It is my goal to support my clients through inspiration, education and guidance to create wellness in their body, mind, & home through the practices of feng shui, elemental space clearing, yoga, and more.

One thought on “Happiness Is…letting go?

Leave a Reply

