Magical Home

Being that I’m one of five children, my mother wasn’t about to do all the work around the house herself. First, we were responsible for our own bedrooms. Me being a feng shui fanatic long before I’d even heard of feng shui, my mother never had to get on my case to keep my room clean and neat. Beyond our own bedrooms, which we shared in pecking order with another sibling (ugh-no special treatment as the only girl), there were other household chores to attend to. Hurricane Carla, 9/11/61

Our evening chores were on a rotating schedule. Someone had to set the dinner table, or clear the table, or do the dishes (that new dishwasher was great) or sweep the floor. There were only four jobs so someone had a night off…my baby brother. :-/

Then there was the yard work. Again, being the only girl with three older brothers, I didn’t get to mow the lawn (pissed me off) until I was in high school when we were down to two kids in the house. So most of the time I had to rake and sweep up the cut grass. Guess there weren’t any attached grass clipping bags back in the ’50’s and early 60’s.

When we were down to 2 kids in the house, I finally got to mow. I loved it I guess because it was outside work. I put in my own vegetable garden when I was in high school. Then off to college I went and my gardening and landscaping career came to an end until I was married and we owned a home. IMG_0759

Now unlike yard work, house cleaning chores are year round and never-ending. But there are ways to make it a little nicer, magical and a cance to connect with nature.

Below is a list of house cleaning tips to better care for our earth and add a little magic as well. I do recommend having a space clearing at least once a year from a professional space clearer…like myself :-)…but to also do some space clearing regularly on your own. It’s so easy.

Tips on cleaning your home physically:
My favorites include…
White Vinegar: cuts grease, deodorizers, and disinfects
Baking Soda: cuts grease, deodorizers, lifts dirt and whitens
Essential oils: helps freshen the air and diffuses unwanted odors and does wonders on the spiritual level as well.
Lemon juice: disinfects, and whitens    
I pretty much use baking soda, vinegar, water, lemon, and essential oils for everything!
Notes: never put essential oils in a plastic container except for PET bottles…glass is good and my prefered choice. Either way, they should be colored (ex.blue or amber) not clear.
Castile Soap: many recipes online mix castile soap with vinegardo not do this! Why? 
check this out I use castle soap (Dr. Bronners) for dishes and hand/body washing.

Bathrooms: I keep a container of baking soda (buy the super size bag, then put in smaller easy to use containers) in each bathroom. Sprinkle on a wet surface, sink/counter/tub, and scrub with a sponge. A little extra may be needed for stuck-on soap scum. This works on shower walls too, just have to put the baking soda on the sponge. Rinse away the baking soda. Add a little lemon juice to your handy spray bottle filled with water and spritz the surfaces. Then rinse well…see it sparkle and smell the freshness!
White vinegar works great in the toilet. Just use as you would any liquid cleaner and scrub. A little baking soda helps if the toilet has been neglected too long, (pee-u) then follow with vinegar.
Floors: I use vinegar and water for all floors, especially on my wood floors. I use a mop with a container attached to it for the liquid cleaner. Just a few TBS in the vessel then fill with water is all you need. But you can add a cap full of castle soap and or lemon juice as well.
Windows: keep windows clean inside and out (vinegar and water in a spray bottle works great) because they bring in the “light”. The light from the sun helps bring out the light within your heart.
Stainless Steel Cleaner
(I don’t have stainless steel, but try this to remove smudges)
1 Tbsp oil
1 Tbsp white vinegar
Put oil on a cloth and rub on surface to get rid of smudges. Dab white vinegar on the other side of the cloth. Wipe and let dry.
Dusting: I usually use a damp cloth with a little vinegar, but for wood furniture, add a little oil of your choice to the cloth.

Now for the magical part…
*Essential oils can play a big part here, for example diffusing lavender or chamomile calms the energy and vetiver or frankincense helps kids study during homework time (grownups too).
*To clear energetic clutter/negative energy, put some salt in a small bowl in the morning, say your intention out loud, leave it for 24 hrs. then discard outside. An intention could be, “My home is flowing with love and sparkling with happiness”. Remember, intentions must be said in a positive way and as though it’s happening now, not in the future.
*Having money issues? Put basil leaves under your front door welcome mat, and/or plant marigolds near the front door. You could also put a jade or bamboo plant inside near the front door or in the wealth area of your home. Even better, get a little green frog from a craft store and put it in the pot with the plant along with a penny on the night of the new moon. Give thanks for bringing you good luck and abundance and leave it there for 15 nights.
*Be sure to use a broom on non carpeted floors and outside. Brooms “sweep away” negative energy. They also connect you to nature if you’re using a “real” broom, one made of wood and straw.

Keep in mind that cleaning your home is so much more than just a chore. You are taking care of those you love, including yourself. If you set an intention before you clean, it takes away the drudgery of cleaning which in turn lifts your vibration and makes your home sparkle even more. Then all those that enter will feel the difference and raise their vibrations too.

Below are some links with more information on creating a magical home for you, your family, your pets, and friends.

Happy Cleaning All You Magicians!!!

Namaste’

Stephanie

Websites to check out:
The book Magical Housekeeping by Tess Whitehurst.
Tree Hugger on going Green.
Homemade Laundry Detergent from my daughter…it’s all I use and works great.
Himalayan salt lamps clean the air of allergens and more.


 

Posted by

Welcome to my Body, Mind & Home Wellness Blog! It is my goal to support my clients through inspiration, education and guidance to create wellness in their body, mind, & home through the practices of feng shui, elemental space clearing, yoga, and more.

One thought on “Magical Home

Leave a Reply

