Liquid Gold

Back in 2004 I took a children’s yoga teacher training with a yoga friend of mine, Christine. At some point during the training Christine and I were having a conversation about health issues. I told her that my husband had recently been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease and she asked me if he had tried using essential oils (EO’s) for his symptoms. I had no idea what she was talking about, but got more and more excited about EO’s as Christine began educate me on their uses. Before the end of the 5 week training, I had signed up with Young Living® and became a distributor. It was one of the smartest things I’ve ever done.

Over the next 10 years I’ve learned more and more about these amazing plant giving oils from my mentor Nancy, lots of reading and trying them myself. I have passed along this knowledge to many friends, family and strangers as well. They are a part of my everyday life and can’t imagine being without them.

My husband did do the protocol of EO’s for Parkinson’s disease for a while, but eventually stopped. He still uses some EO’s and Young Living products. For example, the Thieves® toothpaste. A few years ago his dentist said his gums were receding, so I got him the toothpaste. Six months later his dentist was amazed. His gums were better and no longer receding. He brushes with it several times a week.

As for me, my daily use of EO’s is more extensive. For example…from my daily homemade moisturizer for my “mature” skin, protecting my dogs from fleas and ticks, seasonal allergies, basic first aid, to deodorant and household cleaning. You name it, I’ve got a use from them in place of any man-made chemical product. I recently started using grapefruit essential oil and dropped 5 lbs over Thanksgiving weekend! I’ve kept it off and will continue to lose a few extra pounds.

Now, you might ask…what exactly are essential oils? Well, here’s a short explanation.
“An essential oil is a liquid that is generally distilled (most frequently by steam or water) from the leaves, stems, flowers, bark, roots, or other elements of a plant. Essential oils, contrary to the use of the word “oil” are not really oily-feeling at all. Most essential oils are clear, but some oils such as patchouli, orange and lemongrass are amber or yellow in color.
Essential oils contain the true essence of the plant it was derived from. Essential oils are highly concentrated and a little goes a long way.”  aromaweb.com

Essential oils affect us on many levels, through our skin and through our noses. Here is a short and easy explanation I found online.

An important thing everyone needs to know is that not all essential oils are alike. I’m sure that comes as no surprise. There are many essential oils on the market that are not exactly the real thing. First and most important, the label MUST say, “Therapeutic grade”. Anything else most likely will have added chemicals in it or were used in the distilling process. This is why they are much cheaper in price. There are several companies that make good oils, but I’m partial to Young Living® as well as their other products like the toothpaste. Not all EO’s can be taken internally, but those that are safe, for example the herbs since those are plants we eat, but I’ll only take Young Living® internally.

There is so much to learn about EO’s that I can’t possibly go into it all here. If you have any questions about a particular use, please feel free to ask me. I love to share my knowledge of these amazing oils. Plus it’s important to know just how to use them for an issue. Check out Young Living ® here if you’d like. If you’d like to buy any, let me know. You’ll need my distributor number to do so.

Using therapeutic essential oils can help get you on the road to a more chemical free lifestyle and they smell fabulous.

Namaste’
Stephanie

 

Posted by

Welcome to my Body, Mind & Home Wellness Blog! It is my goal to support my clients through inspiration, education and guidance to create wellness in their body, mind, & home through the practices of feng shui, elemental space clearing, yoga, and more.

2 thoughts on “Liquid Gold

Leave a Reply

